Skip to content

Keep Calm, Keep Going…

August 6, 2009

escalator

Ever feel like you’ll never get to the bottom of something? Like you are always plugging away at your projects and goals, always stressed about things on your To Do List?

Don’t forget to take a minute to keep calm, and keep going. Take a deep breath, close your eyes, and envision what you’re working toward, and why you’re working so hard!  Whether it’s redoing a room, taking on a major organizing project, or just trying not to get mauled by life on the way by, you will always be better at whatever you do if you enter the task with a fresh eye.

Incidentally, this escalator was in the subway system in Prague, where I traveled this Summer. It was the longest escalator I’ve ever seen! At first, I felt a little claustrophobic, a little panicky, and like the end was incredibly far off (and the lighting really green!)

It took what seemed like forever to get to the bottom, but along the way I grabbed my camera and took a few shots, and I closed my eyes. I felt a strange sense of calm, of quiet. When I hopped off to Flea Market in the country, I felt good. Really good.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 1:46 pm

    It’s like on Little Nemo…”just keep swimming…just keep swimming…”

    I don’t remember the name of that purple fish… D something… I’m really bad with names…

  2. August 6, 2009 1:53 pm

    As Ekhart Tolle teaches, experience the moment. Another way to experience the oneness of the moment us to stop and listen to your breathing. Nice post Laurie.

  3. August 6, 2009 2:01 pm

    Thanks, Laurie, we all need a little more calm in life. Chaos has a way of sneaking up on us. It looks like the Prague subway system has had a nice facelift since I was there in 1997. It brings me back to a simpler time.

  4. Todd permalink
    August 6, 2009 4:10 pm

    Very cool pic, and well said remarks. I refer to that moment of zen as “six seconds of clarity.” You have to watch for it, and train yourself to listen to it. But if you shuffle (or stuff) enough into your mind, with a step back, you will get the answers coming at you in the form of intuition, otherwise called experience. Finally we realize why we needed to get “older” to get smarter. We needed more stuff in our heads!

  5. August 6, 2009 5:18 pm

    What an exceptional analogy on the clarity of lifes “stuff”, Laurie. “At first, I felt a little claustrophobic, a little panicky, and like the end was incredibly far off…” Something we all feel at least once (if not more) every day. Thanks for reminding me to “keep calm” ~ XoXoXoX

  6. August 6, 2009 8:38 pm

    What a California Moment! I was all stressed – have a deadline – having trouble doing the work-all tense, too many details. I hate details.
    then I somehow got onto Laurie’s website – and there is was.. keep calm, take a breath.
    Thanks, darling.
    Jo

  7. August 10, 2009 5:52 pm

    Agreed. And just now we did this too. My girlfriend and I took pictures off hollywood hills 🙂

  8. August 11, 2009 4:06 pm

    I’m not gonna lie, there are moments where that nervous feeling starts to come over me. Or that feeling of panic. When I was 18 I got an internship at Merrill Lynch, back then, that was a big deal. I remember being nervous and not exactly fouling up but I said to myself “damn it” and a co-worker overheard. He came over, put his hand on my shoulder and said: “Just remember. It could always be worse. So don’t worry about it. Move on and always do better.”

    Not exactly as soothing as “Keep Calm, Keep Going,” but it set a pace for me.

    Great post Laurie! I really enjoyed this one…

    • lauriemarch permalink*
      August 21, 2009 10:39 am

      Man nothing can make you sweat like being in a little over your head at work. I think we’re not really living if something doesn’t make us nervous every day, don’t you think? I’m glad you had some sage advice. You’re obviously still going at break neck pace!

  9. michelleminch permalink
    August 19, 2009 8:20 pm

    I love the photo Laurie-its brilliant. When I was a kid, I swam competitively. I swam anaerobically. I never took my face out of the water. I just kept swimming as hard as I could. If I kept my face in the water, I won. If I took my face out of the water I lost. Every time. Somehow my breath always lasted for the distance of the race. Now, if I feel overwhelmed, I just tell myself to keep my head down and keep swimming. It works for me.

    • lauriemarch permalink*
      August 21, 2009 10:37 am

      I had no idea you were a swimmer! My mom always used to say she didn’t worry about me because I’m a good swimmer… spent years in the pool as a kid. Should have grown gills! What a lovely analogy for life… just keeping your head down and your breath always getting you to the end of the race. You’ve always got what you need within you to get there.

  10. August 20, 2009 7:56 pm

    That’s how I’m feeling lately. I need to calm myself, clear my head, and flip my AWESOME switch back on.

    Great photo!

Leave a Reply

