Skip to content

Welcome Lucky Magazine December Issue readers!

November 5, 2009
Lucky Magazine December Issue with Carrie Underwood

Lucky Magazine December Issue with Carrie Underwood (and Me!)

Welcome Lucky Magazine readers! What a pleasure it is to finally be able to reveal my experience meeting the West Coast editor of Lucky, having a shoot at my house with the supremely talented Amanda Friedman, and landing in Lucky Magazine this month.

Shall we start by mentioning the emotions one goes through on hearing the editor of Lucky Magazine is coming to your house? In three days.  With a crew! I’m not sure there’s anything more exciting — and my designer/ project manager brain immediately kicked into overdrive.  Glee. Delight. Pride… and back to overdrive.

Overdrive- colored with purpose- is a comfortable state of affairs over here at LMD — (with admittedly more personal primping and detailing than a normal week demands of us.)

The Lucky feature is called “Insider Picks” and it gives readers an opportunity to climb into the mind of cool hunters spanning several industries — and get their favorite tricks and products — with a little girly beauty advice peppered in for fun.  This was a perfect fit for me, since daily my work straddles the line of what is often deemed more masculine pursuits – from solar panels, plumbing, roofing, and electronic home-geekery straight through to the more feminine — custom fabrics and upholstery, curtains and artwork, and design elements.

The shoot was exuberant — fast paced, fun, and full of conversation about my business model, how I help my clients take care of their homes and shop, and little touches that make everybody feel luxurious in their own home.

Some outtakes from my Lucky Magazine shoot with Amanda Friedman

Lucky Magazine polaroids -- shot by Amanda Friedman

We talked at length about the way women live in their bathrooms, apply makeup, and some simple things I like to address with my clients about this under-served and overworked space.  With packed schedules and task juggling at an all time high, the time devoted to ourselves often gets cut first in a crunch.  Small touches in the home can keep you sane!

Check out the feature below.  Happy Reading!

Lucky Magazine December Issue Insider Picks featuring Laurie March

Lucky Magazine December Issue Insider Picks featuring Laurie March Design

Stay tuned to take a peek at my recommendations, some funny out takes,  and online shopping.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 2:10 pm

    OMG!!! Laurie, you look fabulous, and I’m so excited to finally see it in print! Lucky gets the credit for tapping into your amazing style! Awesomesauce!

  2. November 5, 2009 2:14 pm

    Congratulations, Laurie! You look utterly fabulous – this is a great page from Lucky!

  3. Tracy Hiner permalink
    November 5, 2009 2:16 pm

    YAY!! This is so exciting and you look amazing! I’m going to pick up a copy right away!

  4. November 5, 2009 2:25 pm

    I’m SO happy for you! You look beautiful and it’s so well deserved. XOXO Marty

  5. November 5, 2009 2:27 pm

    So super-explosively excited for you! Ahhhh, and I knew you “when”. 🙂 Congratulations & I can’t wait to pick up 37 copies for myself.

    PS: Everyone is right. You look GORGEOUS! 🙂

  6. November 5, 2009 2:33 pm

    Laurie, how exciting!!!!!!!!! You look absolutely fantastic! Lucky Magazine could not have picked a more trendy, talented and warm lady for this spread. Congratulations!!!!!

  7. November 5, 2009 2:47 pm

    Laurie you are one stone cold fox….!!!!

  8. November 5, 2009 3:00 pm

    Congratulations Laurie!!!!

    Hey Carley… what the F?!?! Is this bizarre. Meet up on the phone, run into you on the web… all in one day.

    – Mike

  9. November 5, 2009 3:01 pm

    Congrats Laurie!!! Well done. Can’t wait to check it out.

  10. Bob Watson permalink
    November 5, 2009 3:16 pm

    Wow Laurie! Congratulations! Definitely will pick up a copy and have you autograph for our collection; you’ll be in good company with our signed Demi Moore Esquire issue. When do you start franchising?

  11. November 5, 2009 3:19 pm

    Don’t forget the little people, Laurie! This article is fantastic.

  12. November 5, 2009 3:23 pm

    OMG…you look fab!!!! You are our top “designer pick”…now the entire US will be in on the best kept secret. Congratulations!!!! Reggie & Richard

  13. November 5, 2009 3:27 pm

    Laurie, I am so proud of you. I really think this is the start of something more special than you’ve imagined. All the best to your fantastic interior design and project management business… now the hard work begins!

    John aka OrganizingLA

  14. November 5, 2009 3:32 pm

    We all knew you were a superstar, now everyone else knows too.

    Congratulations!

  15. November 5, 2009 3:46 pm

    Laurie: Carly stole my word: Awesomesauce!!

    Seriously, completely/totally excited and happy for you! WOO. You basically have it and you’re rockin’ day-in and day-out. Congratulations and yes, I’m gonna grab me a copy too…

  16. November 5, 2009 3:57 pm

    You rock girl! Congrats on this awesome feature. Now the whole world will know how great you are. 🙂

  17. November 5, 2009 5:19 pm

    Congrats, Laurie. Talent & beauty. Cudos to Lucky for recognizing it.

  18. November 5, 2009 5:45 pm

    I love what you are doing and congratulations on the LUCKY spread!

  19. November 5, 2009 5:47 pm

    Watch out world, here she comes!!
    Woo hoo, I am so excited for you Gorgeous Girl. I love it.

  20. November 5, 2009 7:36 pm

    Way to go Laurie. Congrats on the coverage!

  21. November 5, 2009 8:00 pm

    With fame, comes fortune. Well good fortune that is. You are so photogenic, and well spoken. TV next? I think you can safely skip the radio business. Maybe go straight to movies? Some of your job sites may qualify as slasher films….

  22. November 5, 2009 8:59 pm

    YOU ROCK! I have to get an issue now 🙂 even though Lucky is oh so dangerous for my wallet!

    BTW, coming down to LA Saturday-Wednesday. I’m having lunch with Annie, Connie and hopefully Michelle on Tuesday. Are you free? Send me a tweet @cindylinsf

    Cheers,
    Cindy

  23. November 5, 2009 9:32 pm

    WE are lucky to know you!

    Congratulations!

  24. Uncle Bill permalink
    November 6, 2009 4:16 am

    So, you move out west and that California sun has allowed you to blossom into the beautiful rose that we all knew you were. Hard work brings rewards and you deserve everything that comes your way. We all send our love.

  25. November 6, 2009 9:56 am

    You are the standard of excellence! Every experience with you is fantastic. I am always so confident to refer you to my clients that I don’t know what I would do without you in my life. Keep up the great work.

  26. November 6, 2009 10:36 am

    Look at you – you look great! Congrats on the coverage. *thumbs up*

  27. Amir Pourzanjani permalink
    November 6, 2009 12:45 pm

    You are the best laurie and here is what you’ve been waiting for, a little fame and lots of new clients for you.

    You deserve this and my best wishes for you.
    By the way, great pictures!!!

  28. Aunt Bette & Jess permalink
    November 6, 2009 3:45 pm

    How cool!!! You’ve been as busy little girl Going right out to get the magazine. So proud of you! Sending you our love, see you at Christmas.

  29. November 7, 2009 7:40 am

    Congrats Laurie, I believe they call this a blue ocean! A truly remarkable feet when you can find one. Big high five from the East!

  30. November 7, 2009 9:46 am

    how very fab!!! you look amazing!!

  31. Erin Schneider Soldezzo permalink
    November 8, 2009 10:16 am

    Laurie!! This is so fantastic! What a great opportunity for you and you look amazing 🙂 You have really done some amazing things in the past few years… and I’m sure will continue to do so.

  32. Evelyn permalink
    November 11, 2009 11:32 am

    Hi Laurie,
    My mom had clipped a photo of you from Lucky magazine because she liked your outfit. I found your blog by googling online.
    Can I ask you where you got that belt from? I’ve been looking for a belt like that forever! I would appreciate it.

  33. November 18, 2009 9:36 am

    Congradulations Laurie,
    I spend a great deal of time researching articles for my business
    GreenPartyGoods.com and I was delighted to discover your article in Lucky as well as your Blog: Brains, Looks and Style what a combo!
    Carole

  34. Wendy permalink
    April 6, 2010 6:11 pm

    I love this Laurie!

Leave a Reply

